Selected for Core Membership at The Playwrights Center

The Playwrights’ Center will welcome six playwrights into its Core Writer program in the 2010-11 season: Andy Bragen, Christina Ham, Adam Kraar, Mona Mansour, Mat Smart, and renewing Core Writer Victoria Stewart.

The Core Writers, a group of 20 to 30 playwrights appointed for renewable three-year terms, have access to the Playwrights’ Center’s world-class resources for new play development. Current Core Writers include Lee Blessing, Barbara Field, Jeffrey Hatcher, and Melanie Marnich, as well as many other established and emerging playwrights.

At the heart of the Core Writer program is the Playwrights’ Center’s Ruth Easton Lab, where playwrights can test out new work with their choice of collaborators from across the country. The Playwrights’ Center provides casting services, rehearsal space, competitive fees for actors and designers, and a stipend for the participating playwright.